Jul 24, 2014

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Coming to Theaters August 8th #TMNTMovie

Gosh, when I heard that The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was coming out with a new movie soon, I instantly felt old. 

If you use to enjoy watching the show and movies, as well as playing with the TMNT toys, your childhood was awesome!


Now that I think about those heroes in a half shell, I think of Vanilla Ice doing one of his famous raps song, "Ninja Rap" for the classic TMNT II The Secret of the Ooze movie.  My favorite turtle character was none other than Michelangelo.



The 4 turtles, along with Master Splinter, April O'Neil, and Shredder has been around for a long time with a different look on Nick.  My girls haven't really been watching the new show since they believe it is more for boys.

One day, I happen to walk into their room and the trailer for the new TMNT came on and boy does those turtles look manly with chiseled abs, but the movie looks like it'll be interesting and action packed.


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Coming to Theaters August 8th #TMNTMovie via ProductReviewMom.com


Details of the new movie below:



Most siblings share a laugh, a meal or maybe even a pet… but this family of ninjas share something unlike any other: a mission to fight crime and protect a city. Saving New York City, where crime and corruption runs rampant, is nothing short of amazing for this  family of brothers.  In a story where heroes are the only thing that can bring ease to the city, Michelangelo, Leonardo, Donatello, and Raphael, are back with a vengeance to restore order and bring safety to the city. As only the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles can do, they battle Shredder and his evil Foot Clan to dismember his diabolical plan to control New York City.
 

On August 8, 2014, Paramount Pictures brings you TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES, a new twist on a classic story full of unparalleled excitement and energy. With every moment, producer Michael Bay (the blockbuster Transformers franchise) keeps your heart pounding with jaw-dropping stunts and cutting-edge animation.  TMNT will take you on a journey through NYC as never seen before with comedy, action, and gut-wrenching suspense. So get your little ninjas ready, this battle will be full of excitement!


In theaters August 8, 2014

Office Instagram: http://instagram.com/tmntmovie
Official Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TMNT


#TMNTMovie



Who was your favorite Ninja Turtle?

Continue Reading...

Jul 23, 2014

What is More Cost Efficient, Driving or Flying to Vacation Destination (Summer Blog Series)

What is More Cost Efficient, Driving or Flying to Vacation Destination (Summer Blog Series) via ProductReviewMom.com
Check out more of the summer blog series here.

Both airline ticket and gas prices are skyrocketing at present. If you are planning for your next vacation, it would be hard to tell whether flying or driving would be a better value. Driving cost estimates include the gas prices, the required overnight stops, the driving time etc. 

On the other hand, flying estimates take into account the airport transfers, airfare, and other associated costs and times. There are several other things that you need to keep in mind while deciding whether you want to fly or drive to your destination. For example, what if your wife suffers from motion sickness, and how your kids behave while traveling in a car. If driving is going to take more time than flying, what will be your professional losses? 


Here, we are trying to find out what is more cost efficient, driving or flying.


What is More Cost Efficient, Driving or Flying to Vacation Destination (Summer Blog Series) via ProductReviewMom.com


Your car’s gas mileage: You already have an idea of what gas mileage your vehicle provides. But in order to be really precise and estimate the cost of a long drive, get it tested from a good resource and have exact miles-per-gallon estimate for both highway and city driving.



Gas prices: Determine how much it will cost to fill up your fuel tank. Find a source where you can find gas rates in different states across your country. Compare the costs, and fill your tank in the place where you can get cheapest fuel. If it is cheapest in your city, then make sure to fill your tank to full, and carry an extra cylinder too.



Cost of hotels and tolls: Do not forget the total amount of money you would be paying as toll taxes. If you are driving a long distance, you may need to halt over, and pay for foods, teas, snacks and even room rents. Consider the number of tolls between your city and your destination. Some routes have many, while others have none. If there is another route, try to take the one that has minimum tolls. But make sure that you do not end up spending more on gas prices.




Number of people traveling: The number of people traveling plays a great role in determining the cost of your trip. If you are a couple traveling alone, then traveling by road may cost more than air tickets for only two. But if you have an entire family or group of friends traveling, then traveling by air may cost too much. In that case, it would be more cost-effective to travel by road.
 

Check the airfare and compare: Before making your final decision, check the cost of airfare between your city and your destination, and compare the related costs. If you are searching fares online, keep in mind that not every airline shares its data and airfare over the Internet through online travel agencies. So, you may have to visit their company website or check their airfare individually to have an idea of the estimates.


Finally, do not forget the cost of buses and trains that take you to your destination by road too. These may provide some really affordable options. If you are going for a vacation, find out which option will be more cost efficient, driving or flying. All these points will help you decide which way you should travel to your dream destination, by air or by road.


 

How do you like to travel, driving or flying?



Continue Reading...

Jul 22, 2014

ICUEyewear.com Review #Sunglasses #ICUeyewear

I received sunglasses free to give my honest opinions.  I was not compensated.

Did you know I only own two pairs of sunglasses?  Terrible huh?  I'm so bad with keeping up with them that I either break them or lose them.  

During my road trip, I lost my favorite pair of sunglasses that I manged to keep a hold of for the past couple of years, even though the plastic was starting the peel off of it.  I guess that was a sign that I needed new sunglasses anyway.

I'm happy I was given a chance to review a couple of Eco Friendly sunglasses from ICUeyewear.com.  I'm in desperate need of adding some sunglasses to my collection and this is prefect timing- I just need to mange not to damage or lose them.

Did you know that sunglasses is a anti-aging advocate?  They help protect your eyes from the harmful sun and also helps prevent squinting that could lead to crows feet around the eyes.

Here is information about the sunglasses I gotten:


ICUEyewear.com Review #Sunglasses #ICUeyewear via ProductReviewMom.com

Yellow Cat Eye Sunglasses ($21.95) are making waves in the fashion industry and emerging as a must-have style to rock beach side this summer! When you sport these sunglasses it’s a win-win because you look fabulous and at the same time are drastically preventing those bad boy wrinkles from forming around your eyes. To seal the deal, these gorgeous frames are also polarized and 100% UV A and B protective.  So kiss those wrinkle worries goodbye and enjoy fun under the sun in your new pair of ICU Eyewear’s sunglasses.



ICUEyewear.com Review #Sunglasses #ICUeyewear via ProductReviewMom.com

Blue Modern Cat Eye Metallic Temple Sunglasses ($21.95) These sunglasses are true beauties because the oversized frame give you more coverage and better protection from the sun. There’s a couple more reasons why these sunnies will make you bat your eyelashes; they are polarized which minimize squinting in bright sun conditions and they are 100% UV A and B protective so they’ve got your back and will protect the soft tissue around your eyes from being exposed to harmful rays.




Check out these great facts about their glasses:


ICUEyewear.com Review #Sunglasses #ICUeyewear via ProductReviewMom.com

 

 

My Review

ICUEyewear.com Review #Sunglasses #ICUeyewear via ProductReviewMom.com


Both sunglasses are very cute and stylish.  I can see me rocking these with a lot of different outfits!  I love the fact that these fun glasses are made of recycled material which helps keeps our environment clean.

They are both good quality sunglasses that I could tell will last me for years.  If I had to choose which sunglasses are my favorite, I would have to go with Yellow Cat Eye Sunglasses due to its color and high side points.  Those are more stylish, upbeat, and gives any style a dramatic pop!

I love the fact that these sunglasses are low in price, but high in quality.  I never purchase sunglasses that are over $25.


Visit ICUeyewear.com for more sunglasses styles and they also have sunglasses for men.  Check out their reading glasses selections too!


 

Is ICUEyewear sunglasses worth a try? 

I'm really loving these sunglasses and the price is just right for them.  They have so many great styles with great prices to match.  You won't have buyer's remorse buying these!





Which sunglasses do you like on me, left (yellow) or right (black)?



Disclosure- I received the sunglasses free to give my honest opinions.  All opinions are my own and I was not compensated.
Continue Reading...

Jul 21, 2014

Top 10 Money Saving Apps #MoneySavingApps


Top 10 Money Saving Apps #MoneySavingApps


It is not just the teen crowd who can be whizzes with the state of the art technology. With all  of new apps for the Smart phones, they have been extremely useful in various aspects of our lives. 

The below mentioned are the apps that tracks the cheapest deals on various products – as they are categorized as the best money saving apps.

If you are looking to save your cold hard cash, Ibotta is the one for you. It is easy and fun. All you have to do is simply browse the merchants around you or answer the questions with your friends to unlock the rebate. Once you have the receipt, show it to the Ibotta and immediately get the cash rebate.


Cartwheel:
Are you ready to save more cash when you shop at your nearest Target store? The app makes extravagant offers on the various products that help you save money with a breeze.

This app provides users with the local information that focuses on the kids dining promotions. They automatically offer immediate access to the hundreds of restaurants offering “Kids meal deals” along with added promotional deals and discounts on the same.

With this app you are able to save more every time you shop at your favorite stores/brands. The app provides you with the greatest and latest deals, as it offers you with the deals and coupons list of over 50000 stores.

Gas prices are up every day and we all are looking for ways to find it cheaper. Gasbuddy app helps you find the cheapest deal in just one tap nearby your location.  Also it let you earn the rewarding points for the gas prices and helps save money every time when you fill up the gas at the nearest station.

The app is faster, smarter, and has a whole new look. The app delivers the up to date notifications which is location based when you arrive at the place and provides you with the information of the deals and discounts going on in order to save money.

Whether you are dining out with the friends, grocery shopping, buying clothes, or watching a movie, this app with its interactive search feature searches for the barcode for the items and you earn points towards great rewards and prizes.


Shop Savvy is an instant price tag comparison app for the most of the stuff tagged with the barcode. The reason it has been listed as the best app is because the app is user-friendly and it easily tracks the comparison of the prices from the similar retailers. You are shown the comparison with the direct links so that you can directly browse the website and buy the stuff at the lesser price.

It comes with the list of features that you expect to have in a robust shopping app. It builds the shopping list quickly by simply scanning the barcode with its predictive search option. This way it lets you find out the discounted deals at the products you often shop and save money.

It is a personal budgeting and personal financial management app that lets you save money by providing accurate information on your spending and how you can curb the expenses. Also, it designs your budget and helps you save more.


The above mentioned apps are the apps that pay you back – which means it lets you have good savings on your shopping making it more pleasurable and fun.

What are your favorite money saving apps?

Continue Reading...

Jul 18, 2014

Product Review Weekend Link Up Party #ProductReviewParty #19

Product Review Weekend Link Up Party #ProductReviewParty #19 via ProductReviewMom.com

#ProductReviewParty is every Friday from 9am to Sunday 9pm EST

Link up to 3 Product Review Posts

Please don't link up and run!  Visit others and leave thoughtful comments.  If you like the products, please share it on your social networks.  Thanks!



Continue Reading...

Jul 17, 2014

June Favorite Products 2014

June Favorite Products 2014- #FavoriteProducts via ProductReviewMom.com

This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Sorry for the lateness of this post.  Since I took a blogging hiatus, some of my blog posts are arriving late along with this one, so my apologies.

I've gotten and used some great stuff in June!  Each month I'm always introduced to some really great stuff and love to share them with you guys.  Below are my favorite products in the month of June.




1. Pink Zebra Green Tea & Lemongrass Lotion- I found out about this company when I went to a Women's Expo here in Atlanta in the beginning of June.  They have some great smelling candles that you can customize and also sulfates and parabens free soaps, lotions, and more.  I became very fascinated with their lotions because of the scent as well as how moisturized my skin felt after using it.  My daughters and I use Pink Zebra's Green Tea & Lemongrass every morning before we head out for the day.  Also, you can start your own business with this company.


2. Tree Hut Shea Sugar Scrub (Island Kiwi)- I was in desperate need of a body scrub because my skin was dry and rough due to the hot Atlanta heat.  I took a trip to Kroger to see what kind of body scrubs they had in their store.  The Tree Hut Shea Sugar scrub caught my eye because I've heard of people using sugar as a natural body scrub.  This body scrub is amazing!  It left my skin with a fresh scent and also soft- no dryness. It even works great on my face too.


3. LOOKA Patisserie- Last month, I had the opportunity to taste test some French desserts and boy were they good!  It was like I got them straight from a French bakery- no lie!  I did a review on this company and you can check it out here.


4. Samsung Galaxy S5- I had the S4 but that phone kept blacking out on me and I kept needing to have it replaced.  I went through 3 Samsung S4 phones and I had enough of it so I upgraded to the S5.  The S5 is awesome!  Picture quality is much better, it can get wet without getting destroyed, battery life is much longer, graphics are bolder and brighter, much more faster speed on the internet, and a lot more.  I could go on and on!  I was in the market to buy a new camera but now I'm going to hold off since I love the way this phone takes good quality pictures.


5. Lush Cosmetics- I've seen this store plenty of times at my mall but never took the time to go in and see the things they offered.  Thanks to Ashley from FabEllis.com and Alli from AnAlliEvent.com for their great reviews about this company they finally convinced me to go on in and check Lush out.   Thank goodness I did because I found some great all natural makeup products in there!  They also have all natural bath products as well.  I purchased some lip balm, two lip glosses that can be used as a blush and eye shadow, and I also got a skin highlighter.  Their prices are a bit steep but well worth it though.  The store associate was so helpful with helping me choose colors for me.  What a great company!


What were your favorite products you used in June?

Disclosure- This post contains Amazon affiliate links meaning I earn a small commission if you click link and make a purchase.
Continue Reading...

Jul 16, 2014

Great Stay-Cation Ideas (Summer Blog Series)

Great Stay-Cation Ideas (Summer Blog Series) via ProductReviewMom.com
Check out more of the summer blog series here.

A staycation can be as elaborate as a usual vacation, or as simple as spending a few days resting and relaxing at home. The only thing that remains constant is that you do not travel too far. And actually, traveling long distances is not a necessary component of having a fun vacation. 

Staycation is all about leaving behind your daily routine, and take some time to decompress. If you are planning for a vacation, you may not be able to leave the town due to financial constraints, health problems or work obligations. In that case, you may decide to stay at home or travel to a nearby place, and have some time to relax. 

Here are some great staycation ideas:

Great Stay-Cation Ideas (Summer Blog Series) via ProductReviewMom.com



1.                  Backyard camping: Setup a tent in your own backyard, and go for backyard camping. Fire up a grill, take some lawn chairs and flashlights, pack your sleeping bags, and shift to your backyard. Leave all your cell phones, handheld games, laptops and other devices back at home. Cookout on the grill for dinner, and have some s’mores as dessert. When the night begins, play some games with kids, such as flashlight tagging, playing board games in the candlelight, telling ghost stories etc. You can also invite neighbors to your camp.

2.                  Build something: Have your kids been asking for a tree house, or they want to redecorate their room? Spend a week together and do something creative. Building and painting together will not only give you some quality time with your family, but you will also have something usable by the end of the week.

3.                  Play outdoors: Talk a walk, fly a kite, take a bike ride, or go for a hike, plan with your family to spend some time outdoors. Do a little research, and you will definitely find some hiking, walking and biking trails in your own town. Find the one that fits the athletic abilities of your family members. Do not forget to take along water and snacks.



4.                  Host a lemonade stand: If your kids are budding entrepreneurs, then there can be no better way than this to begin their business ventures. Cut some simple pieces, assemble them at your front door or the backyard, and build up a lemonade stand. Fill their stand with some lemonade, and see how they sell it. Believe it or not, your neighbors will be really interested in watching your kids do the job, and will also participate actively. This can be a nice time altogether.


5.                  Spend an entire day watching movies: Plan a movie marathon, and allow each member to choose his or her own favorite. You can also keep a theme for the movies, such as slapstick comedies, alien movies etc. During movies, toast yourself with cider and sparkling juices, and of course, the popcorn.



What are other great Stay-Cation Ideas?




Continue Reading...

Jul 15, 2014

Elementary School Supply Lists for All Grade Levels #BacktoSchool


Elementary School Supply Lists for All Grade Levels #BacktoSchool #BacktoSchoolSupplies via ProductReviewMom.com
This post contains Amazon Affiliate links.

While on my road trip, I made sure to visit different stores and see what they had to offer since I love to shop.

During my browsing, I noticed a lot of Back to School signs and it donned on me, "Summer vacation for my daughters is coming to an end and I need to start getting ready for Back to School Shopping!"

People are more than excited to return their kids to school, but I actually wish my daughters had a lot more time to enjoy Summer and the reason for this is because when they start back to school I pretty much do too since I'm dealing with homework, waking up early each day, preparing lunch each day, and dealing with the dreaded fundraisers that their school seems to have every single month!

Now I have to look forward to as of right now is buying school clothes and school supplies.  Below I've added a list of supplies needed for Elementary School students from grade level K-5.  (This list is from Georgia School System but list could be similar for other states.)

Kindergarten School Supply List


  • 1 Large, Easy-to-Open Book Bag
  • 1 Bath-Sized Towel for Quiet Time
  • 1 Box of Colored Markers (Classic Colors)
  • 1 Spiral Notebook
  • 1 Composition Notebook
  • 1 Box of Tissues
  • 2 Containers of Baby Wipes
  • 1 Box of 5 oz. Dixie Cups
  • 1 Box of Crayola Crayons (No more than 24 Count)
  • 2-4 oz. Bottle of White Elmer's Glue
  • 1 Box Ziploc Bags (Boys- gallon size, girls- quart size)
  • 1 Package #2 Pencils
  • 6 Pocket Folders (yellow, red, green, blue, orange, and purple) with brads
  • 2 Glue Sticks
  • 2 Reams of White Copy Paper
  • 1 Package Dry Erase Markers 

First Grade School Supply List


  • One Large, Easy-to-Open Book Bag
  • One 1-inch, 3-Ring Binder
  • 36 (or more) #2 Pencils
  • One Box of 10 Colored Markers (Classic Colors)
  • One Pair Student-Sized Scissors
  • 24 Count Crayola Crayons
  • Three Spiral Notebooks (No Designs- solid colors only, wire bound- No perforated pages)
  • One Large Box of Kleenex
  • One School Supply Box, approx. 9" x 6" x 3"
  • Two Packages of Baby Wipes (refills packages are preferred)
  • Three Folders with Prongs and Two Pockets (one solid red, one solid yellow, and one solid blue)
  • Two Bottles of Elmer's Glue (4 ounce bottles)
  • Two Packs of Glue Sticks
  • Two Boxes of Ziploc Bags (boys = gallon size, girls = quart size)
  • 3 Reams of White Copy Paper
  • One Box of Band-Aids (Plain Only)
  • 3 Composition Notebooks (wide-ruled)
  • Dry Erase Marker

 Second Grade School Supply List


  • 1 Highlighter
  • 4 Plastic Pocket Folders with Brads (red, yellow, blue, green)
  • 2 Spiral Wide-Ruled Notebooks (approx. 70 pages)
  • 4 Composition Notebooks
  • 1 Large 3 Hole Zippered Pencil Pouch for Folder
  • 1 Pencil Box for Desk
  • 1 Box of Crayola Crayons (24 Count)
  • 1 Box of Crayola Markers
  • 1 Box of Colored Pencils (12-24 Count)
  • 2-4oz. Bottles of Glue
  • 8 or more Glue Sticks
  • 1 Pair of Fiskars Scissors
  • 48 #2 Pencils (pre-sharpened)
  • 2 Boxes of Tissues
  • 1 Box of Wet Wipes
  • 1 Box Ziploc Bags (boys- gallon size, girls- quart size)
  • 3 Reams of White Copy Paper
  • 1 Pump Bottle of Hand Sanitizer
  • 1 Package Dry Erase Markers


Third Grade School Supply List

 

  • 4 Pk Jumbo Glue Sticks
  • 2 Packs Wide Ruled Notebook Paper
  • 3 Black & White Composition Notebook
  • 3 Boxes #2 Pencils (24 Pack)
  • 2 Packages Dry Erase Markers 
  • 1 Box of Colored Pencils 
  • 1 Box of Crayons (12 Count or Less)
  • Scissors (pointed tip)
  • 3 Spiral Notebooks, Single Subject (70 Pages)
  • 1 Large Zippered Pencil Case (no boxes)
  • 2 Large Boxes of Tissues
  • 2 Highlighters (yellow)
  • 1 Box Unscented Baby Wipes
  • 1-1 1/2 inch 3 Ring Binder
  • 1 Package of Clorox Wipes
  • 3 Reams of White Copy Paper
  • 1 Box Ziploc Bags (girls- quart size, boys- gallon size)
  • 6- Pocket Folders with Brads (red, yellow, blue, green- solid colors)
  • Boys- Papers Towels
  • Girls- Baby Wipes


Fourth Grade School Supply List


  • 1 Small Pair of Scissors
  • 2 Large Boxes of Tissues
  • 1- 11/2"- inch Binder
  • 1 Pack of Subject Dividers w/Pockets
  • 2- Four Pack "Low Odor" Dry Erase Markers
  • 2 Spiral Notebooks (single subject, wide rule)
  • 2 Composition Notebooks
  • 2 Packs of Notebook Paper (wide rule)
  • 3 Reams of White Copy Paper (8 1/2 in. x 11 in.)
  • 2 Boxes of #2 Pencils- Sharpened
  • 1 Ink Pen- blue or black- No Red
  • 2 Highlighters- any color
  • 2 Packs of 6 Glue Sticks
  • 1 Box Colored Pencils (12 Count)
  • 1 Box Crayons (24 Count)
  • 1 Box of Gallon Size Zipper Bags (girls)
  • 1 Box of Quart Size Zipper Bags (boys)
  • 1 Zippered Pouch Pencil Bag- No Pencil Boxes
  • 5 Folders with Pockets and Brads
  • 1 Bottle of Hand Sanitizer (girls)
  • 1 Container of Baby Wipes (boys)
  • 1- Eight Pack of Coloring Markers- No Permanent Marker

Fifth Grade School Supply List



  • 3 Folders with Pockets and Brads
  • 3 Reams of White Copy Paper
  • Zippered Pencil Pouch
  • 6 Composition Books
  • 1 Pack of Multiple Glue Sticks
  • 1 Pack of Dry Erase Markers
  • 3 Packs of Loose Leaf Notebook Filler Paper
  • Pencils
  • 1 Box of Colored Pencils
  • Highlighter(s)
  • 2 Large Boxes of Tissues
  • 1 Standard Size (8 1/2 in. x 11 in.) Yellow Legal Pad
  • Baby Wipes
  • Scissors



Amazon is your one-stop-shop for all of your school supply needs!  All you have to do is type in the school supplies you need and have it shipped straight to your doorstep. 

Shop Amazon - Save Time and Money with School Lists



If you're in Georgia, you can take advantage of tax breaks during the Back-to-School Sales Tax Holiday.  Shoppers will not have to pay state or local sales tax on items like school supplies, clothing, shoes, software, and computers.  This holiday begins on Aug 1-2.

Check out this website for more states that participates in the tax holiday.

If you're in Metro Atlanta, come join the girls and I at the opening of Famous Footwear Grand Opening Event in Suwanee, GA.  Get some great deals on shoes for your kids for back to school.


How do you prefer to buy your children's school supplies in-store or online?

Disclosure- This post contains Amazon Affiliate links, meaning I'll earn a small commission if you click links and make a purchase.
Continue Reading...

Jul 14, 2014

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip

I'm back yall!  Did you miss me?  Well I hope so because I missed talking to you all!

The reason for me going MIA for a week was because I went on my annual family road trip.  This year, the family and I traveled to Memphis TN, San Antonio TX, Luling TX, and Houston TX, all in 8 days!

This trip was epic!  Although being on the road is tiring, I love the bonding my family and I has together while on the wide open road.

We rented our car through Avis using our Costco discount for our epic trip adventure and gotten a nice Kia Sportage to help us get to all of our destinations. 

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #FamilyVacation #Kia via ProductReviewMom.com


Below is all the shenanigans we got into.

 

Memphis


Our first stop was in Memphis.  We go here every year because my dad's side of the family has their annual family reunion.  This year, the reunion was a bit low key than the previous years.  The years before my family rented out a spot at a local state park, but this year they had the reunion at Autozone Park where the Memphis's Redbirds (affiliate baseball team to the St. Louis Cardinals) plays.

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #AutoZonePark via ProductReviewMom.com

We all were there for the 4th of July celebration to watch the fireworks.  My family reunion was 50 people deep and we were all scattered around the baseball park.  No one was really watching the baseball game, we took the time to greet family members and catch up on what we all been up to this past year.
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #Familyphoto via ProductReviewMom.comMy Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #AutoZonePark #Memphis via ProductReviewMom.com

The girls had a ball playing at the playground and playing the games that the park provided.  But their fun turned into a nightmare once the fireworks show started.  They are afraid of fireworks and they cried like babies!  Thanks for my grandfather who took them and several other kids away from the show so Mr. M and I could sit back and enjoy the show.  I must say, those fireworks were very powerful!  I felt like I was watching fireworks from Disneyworld!  Smoke and debris from the fireworks was everywhere!  So much that it was getting all over my clothes and getting into my eyes.  Thank goodness I didn't wear white that night!


After the fireworks show, some of my family members and my family and I headed to my cousin's house to have a kick back.  It was loud talks, drinks, and laughter.

The day after the 4th of July, my Aunt had a BBQ at her house.  This BBQ was pretty mellow too since there was no music playing or games.
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #FamilyReunion via ProductReviewMom.com
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip via ProductReviewMom.com
My dad and I
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #familyreunion via ProductReviewMom.com
My dad, grandfather, and the girls

Once it was night fall, the older kids started popping fireworks in my Aunt's field.  My girls wanted to pop fireworks too and for some reason they weren't afraid of fireworks anymore.  I didn't allow them because I feel playing with fireworks is dangerous.  And thank goodness I didn't allow them because one of the fireworks shot towards my Aunt's house and we all ran for cover!  That was extremely scary!  Thank goodness the fireworks didn't set anything on fire.



San Antonio


We spent two days in Memphis and traveled to San Antonio.  That drive took a full day.  We ran into some pretty bad traffic in Arkansas and lost two hours of our time.  During our drive to San Antonio, our air conditioner in our Kia started acting up and started to blow hot air.  Texas is too hot to not have air conditioning.  We almost had to return the car in Dallas but the cold air kicked back in during our drive.

We left Memphis at Noon and arrived to San Antonio about 2am in the morning.

San Antonio is scary at nights.  I don't recommend walking the streets at night alone.  A lot of homelessness and people tweaking out on drugs.  Plus a lot of gangbangers roaming the streets.

We did a Express Deal on Priceline and they placed us in the Sheraton Gunter hotel just one block from The Riverwalk.  The hotel is beautiful and luxurious!  I found out the hotel was built in 1909 and is the oldest hotel in San Antonio.

The lobby is breathtaking and reminds me of a ballroom that people dress up and start dancing the waltz.  The room that they placed us in was spacious and had a great view of the near by buildings and seeing San Antonio come to life during the day.

They had great amenities like, a barbershop, several conference rooms, wine bar restaurant, inexpensive restaurant cafe, rooftop pool, good size gym, and more!

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #sheratongunter via ProductReviewMom.com
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #SheratonGunter via ProductReviewMom.com

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #SheratonGunter via ProductReviewMom.com

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #SheratonGunter via ProductReviewMom.com

We had a chance to tour the Riverwalk and it is absolutely beautiful there!  A lot of history is there.  All the buildings and landscape is beautifully done and I felt at peace while out there.  So much to do at the Riverwalk like, restaurants, shops, river tours, a mall, cathedrals, museums, and more.  Also near the Riverwalk is the Alamo and the Missions.
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #Riverwalk via ProductReviewMom.com
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #RiverWalk via ProductReviewMom.com

On the strip near the Alamo, there are several family attractions like Ripley's Haunted Adventure, The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum, The Texas Ranger Museum, Ripley's Believe It or Not!, The Amazing Mirror Maze a 4D Experience, Tomb Rider 3D, Louis Tussaud's Waxworks, Ripley's Moving Theater 4D, and Guinness World Records.

We only did the Louis Tussaud's Waxwork and that one was a bit of a disappointment because almost all the replicas did not look like the celebrities. 
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #waxwork via ProductReviewMom.com

The Alamo does not allow photography inside but I'll say there is not too much to see in there, but it is really about the history of it.
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #TheAlamo via ProductReviewMom.com


The family and I got on a double decker bus that is like the ones in London and the bus drivers sidekick narrated and told us the history of all locations and buildings we drove passed.

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #Busride via ProductReviewMom.com


During my time in San Antonio, I ate so much Tex Mex that I felt like I was going to exploded!  The best food I had out there was at Mi Terra.  That restaurant stays packed with people and stays open for 24 hrs a day.  It is a bit on the expensive side but well worth it!  A lot of locals kept recommending us to try Mi Terra's and I'm glad we did! 

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #MiTerra via ProductReviewMom.com



Luling


During our San Antonio stay, we met up with some of my San Antonio family and my dad and grandfather rode down from Memphis too to spend several days in San Antonio as well.

We all rode together to take an hour drive to Luling to have some Texas BBQ at the City Market.  This is actually my second time eating there and the food is great!  The place look like a little hole in the wall but the food will have you requesting for more!  I love stepping into the dark smoke room and seeing how the people prepare the meats with huge bbq pits and black wood.  The aroma itself will get you instantly hungry!

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #CityMarket via ProductReviewMom.com
The girls and I with our older cousin



Houston


Our time at San Antonio was coming to an end and we decided to make one pit stop in Houston since Mr. M had a business appointment to attend to there.

I hopped on Priceline and did another Express Deal and we were placed in the Westin at the Galleria.

The drive from San Antonio to Houston was about 3 hours.  Once we got there, Mr. M went to his business meeting while the girls and I waited on him.  Once his meeting wrapped up, we headed to our hotel.  The Westin was another beautiful hotel we had a pleasure staying in.  We didn't get a chance to check out all the amenities the hotel had to offer but the girls enjoyed taking a dip in their rooftop swimming pool.
My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #thewestin #rooftoppool via ProductReviewMom.com


Our room was also very spacious, even more spacious than the Sheraton.  I loved the rainfall shower in the bathroom!

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #TheWestin via ProductReviewMom.com

Also, this hotel is attached to the Galleria Mall.  This mall is huge!  It has so many different stores to shop, including luxury stores.  I couldn't believe there was even a ice skating rink inside.

Near the ice skating rink, we ate at the Rainforest Cafe.  That restaurant was a huge disappointment!  We were going to go to the one at the Riverwalk but it had terrible reviews online.  The reviews for the one in the Galleria Mall wasn't that bad and I took the chance to judge for myself.  Our food took over an hour to arrive at our table and the food was cold and tasteless.  Also it tasted like it was sitting all day.  Only thing going good for this restaurant is the decor.  It keeps the kids entertained with the moving animals in the forest and the rain storm.

My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #RainforestCafe via ProductReviewMom.com


Our epic road trip has come to an end and we headed home!


I calculated our driving miles we done through the whole trip, and we drove about a total of 2,244.88 highway miles.  That is almost driving cross country!  During our trip, we drove through 6 states that includes, Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Arkansas, Texas, and Louisiana.    




Highlights of Our Trip


  • Being pulled over by a cop in Alabama on our way to Memphis.  Mr. M was doing 75 in a 45 zone.  Now going that fast could've landed him in jail!  The cop let us go without a ticket and told us to slow down.
  • I didn't get bit that much by bugs during the whole trip.  Almost every year the bugs enjoys feasting on me in Memphis.  I'm happy that I walked away on this trip with 4 to 5 bites on my feet only.
  • Seeing Hispanic Elvis at Mi Terra in San Antonio.  That guy scared the crap outta the girls and I because we thought he was a statue.  After we took a picture of him, he moved and smiled at us.  Pretty creepy!
    My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #MexicanElvis via ProductReviewMom.com
  • Going to Johnny Dang's Jewelry store in Houston.  If you're into hip hop music then you'll know who Johnny Dang is.  He is a famous guy that makes gold grills, chains, and more for hip hop artist and celebrities.  He became famous after being in hip hop artist's music videos along with Paul Wall.  Unfortunately, he wasn't at the store for us to meet him.
    My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #JohnnyDang via ProductReviewMom.com
  • There is an In-N-Out Burger in Texas!  A lot of you may know that I was born and raised in California.  In-N-Out Burger is one of my favorite burger joints back home and being able to eat In-N-Out Burger again gave me a piece of home I've been missing.
    My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #INNOutBurger via ProductReviewMom.com
     
  • BUC-EE'S is the best gas station ever!  This gas station is huge!  So much stuff you can get in there like food to order, clothes, bakery, toys, supplies, gosh I bet you can get just about anything in there!  Also, they have gas pumps for miles!  You'll never have to wait for a gas pump!  This gas station is only in Texas.
    My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #Bucees via ProductReviewMom.com
    My Epic Family Road Trip Vacation! #RoadTrip #bucees via ProductReviewMom.com
  • Texas is a beautiful state!  Although I've been to Texas once before, I didn't realize how beautiful the state is.  The skies are blue, grass is green, and everything is bigger and better.  It reminds me so much like California that Mr. M and I has been in the talks of moving there.  I'm very serious!  Don't be surprise if you see a post about me moving to Texas in a few years.
  • The food in Texas is delicious!  I can tell the quality of the food is much more better in Texas too.  I can just see myself eating myself sick being there.  I pretty much was doing that when I was there anyway.  I ate so much Tex Mex that I burnt myself out on Mexican food.

I can't wait for our next adventure next year!



For more pictures from our trip, check out my Instagram.


Have you gone on long distance road trips before?




Continue Reading...
If you've enjoyed my content, make sure to subscribe to always stay updated.

Follow me on Google+, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Also head on over to my other blog too EarningFreeMoney.com to learn ways to make extra money from home free.

Product Review Mom | All Rights Reserved | Copyright LM Marketing, LLC © 2014 | Web Design by Debbie Navarro